PM WG weekly status meeting

Wednesday, 09-11-2011

Attendees

Name

Email

IRC Nick

Amit Kucheria

amit.kucheria@linaro.org

amitk

Mike Turquette

mike.turquette@linaro.org

mturquette

Vincent Guittot

vincent.guittot@linaro.org

vingu

Amit Kachhap

amit.kachhap@linaro.org

amitdk

Steven Jahnke

steve.jahnke@linaro.org

frautha?

Daniel Lezcano

daniel.lezcano@linaro.org

dlezcano

Mounir Bsaibes

mounir.bsaibes@linaro.org

mounir

Robin Randhawa

robin.randhawa@arm.com

?

Lorenzo Pieralisi

lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com

?

Agenda

New Action items

  • Mounir to send a note to Tony about cpuidle driver availability on the boards
  • AmitD to study new patch (cpuidle use of timer to reach deeper sleep state) and check if it is useful

Old Action Items

  • Mounir to check with Work Item that covers the cpuidle mainlining that Amitd is working on.
  • Amit / Mounir to get an Origen board to Daniel - DONE
  • Rob to send a note to Russel asking whether he accepts Freescale cpuidle driver, or Russell only accepts a consolidated driver. - DONE
  • AmitK to figure out what powersupply PNWG needs for use for measurement
  • Amitk to contact Kevin Hillman about which NIDAK to use - Trying to get Dave to talk about his H/W dungle.
  • Mike to send a schematic how to solder a resistor across VBAT, power measurement.
  • Rob to test sched_mc patch on i.MX6 and give feedback - DONE
  • Rob to send an email to the group to solicit feedback on a generic cpuidle driver - DONE

Minutes

  • cpuidle driver is available on most boards
  • Went through a summary from Connect
    • sched_mc
      • Add time weighted for load balance for each task.
      • Test sched_mc with a framework
      • Will submit new version soon and will remove a patch that does the same thing as another one that already exist.
    • Cpuidle
      • Rob has sent the common spuidle to the group which was reviewed with Daniel. Daniel suggested that best to fix the core cpuidle which makes porting to the platforms much easier.
      • Rob is looking / studying SMP cpuidle, so far the thought is changes to menu governor may be needed.
    • Common clock framework
      • Some platform work is happening to convert to the new framework. ShawnGuo from Freescale start converting to the framework and provided feedback

      • Resolved last issue on Panda. Panda is now 100% converted to the new framework.
      • The goal is to do some additional clean-up and release towards the end of this week.
      • No need to spend time on back porting to Linaro-kernel as Linaro-kernel will be following Linux tip in the near future.
  • Component to be released this month
    • power-qa will put small test for cpuidle
    • powerdebug no change
    • powertop no change

WorkingGroups/PowerManagement/Meetings/2011-11-09 (last modified 2011-11-09 17:15:54)