PM BOF at LDS, Budapest

Wednesday, 10-05-2011

Attendees

Name

Email

IRC Nick

Amit Kucheria

amit.kucheria@linaro.org

amitk

Daniel Lezcano

daniel.lezcano@linaro.org

dlezcano

Vincent Guittot

vincent.guittot@linaro.org

vingu

Amit Kachhap

amit.kachhap@linaro.org

amitdk

Bobby Bhatacharia

bobby.bhatacharia@arm.com

bobbyb_arm

Kevin Hilman

Steve Rostedt

Sascha Hauer

Linus Walleij

Mike Turquette

mturquette@linaro.org

Magnus Damm

Agenda

  • People
  • PM_QoS
    • device-specific qos
    • constrain framework
  • Tracing (Steve Rostedt)
    • Current state
    • What is missing?
    • Demo?
  • Runtime PM
    • Talk by Kevin Hilman
    • Conversion of existing code to use runtime PM
  • Shared resources management (DDR, bus)
    • SoC and embedded system have more and more shared ressources like DDR and system bus but no easy way to choose their bandwidth and/or power state. Some system are using cpuidle or cpufreq to select the best state but these frameworks don't cover all use cases as they are cpu centric. What about the GPU and any other HW which use these ressources ? QoS could be a solution for gathering system constraint but does it really fit all use cases ?
  • Power vs. Performance
    • The kernel is mainly performance oriented and power saving is allowed if there is "minor" performance decrease. How could we handle aggressive power saving use cases where best performance is no more the main constraint ?
  • Power domains
    • How to model?

Actions

  • TBA

Minutes

  • TBA

WorkingGroups/PowerManagement/Archives/ConfNotes/2011-05-Connect-Budapest-PM-BOF (last modified 2013-08-21 14:09:10)